A is for…

Standard

Image

So, here we are: Two thousand and thirteen. As part of my New Years Resolution, I decided to start up this little blog. Mostly for my own pleasure, or mostly just to have somewhere to dump my random Photos that I’m sick of cluttering my Facebook News Feed with. Either way, here we are. Welcome, my friends. For your troubles, I decided to make you an Apple Pie. Or, well, I made this for Adam (my super handsome fiance/mansnack/love), but we can pretend it’s just for you. Are we on the same page, now? Good. So back to this selfless gift…

There is something nostalgic about making a pie. There’s just something about the smell of cinnamon and apples wafting through my nostrils that makes me feel comfortable and warm. This pie in particular is good. Actually, it is very very good. So good that I half expected that witch from Snow White to show up at my window as it sat there to cool (come on guys, like you don’t picture that hag when you think of pies.)

Snow White 7 Witch

Am I right!?

Let’s get started, shall we?

Image

Spiked Apple Pie
Yields One 9″ Pie

Ingredients: 

  • 4 medium sized apples (I used 2 each of Honeycrisp & Grannysmith) peeled & cored
  • 3/4 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 1 T corn starch
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 2 T dark alcohol (I used bourbon. Spiced Rum would probably be delicious) or 1 1/2 T vanilla extract
  • 2 T cold butter, cut into small cubes
  • 1 refrigerated pie crust (or homemade if you’re fancy like that–you need enough for a double crust)
  1. Preheat your oven to 375
  2. After peeling and coring your apples, slice them as thin as you can manage. I am growing quite fond of my mandolin which sliced them thin and cut the prep time in half. Yes.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients (except for the pie crust…obviously) and whisk out any clumps that brown sugar might bring to the party. We good?
  4. Prep your pie pan with one of the crusts, pressing it into place
  5. Gradually start mixing the apples into the cinnamon-booze mixture. The apples will be thin and might start to fall apart. Don’t fret, my pet.
  6. Once all the apples are good and coated, spoon the mixture into the prepared pie crust and smooth to fill.
  7. Now add the top crust and get creative if you please. I cut the apple out of the crust before placing it on the pie, trimmed the excess crust and used those pieces to roll the letters. Maybe you’ll have better luck and less wonky looking letters. Do your thang.
  8. Now, brush that bad boy with some egg wash and pop it in the oven for 1 hr.

Serve it warm with some ice cream or icing like my bub likes it. Enjoy.

I won’t tell anyone about the pie crust if you won’t.

Nice to meet you.

Becka Lee

4 thoughts on “A is for…

Leave a Reply

