Slow Cooked Chicken Chili.

Standard

I’ve heard it said that there are a few things you just can’t talk about in America without starting an arguement: Religion, Politics and Chili. Or is is Barbeque? Crap. Let’s go with Chili. I’m right. Don’t even Google it.

Depending on where you are in the States, they probably serve Chili a variety of different ways. Over rice, with beans, no beans, no meat (WHY!?), over pasta, over a hot dog or fries, or my favorite: on top of a cheeseburger (SO GOOD). I have also never watched an episode of Diners Drive-In’s and Dives without someone bragging about their famous chili recipe. But, I mean, if I was in the same room as Guy Fieri’s slick, bleached goatee… I’d probably brag about my chili too. A girl’s gotta eat.

guy-fieri-pose

You’re welcome for the eye candy, by the way…

Alright, back to this Chili business. As I mentioned the other day, I am a big fan of easy weeknight meals. This meal was also really cheap. Bonus. And, if you omit the cheeseburger from under your pile of chili, it’s actually pretty good for you. In fact, it’s putting me a step closer from not having to Crisco myself into my Wedding Dress. Double Bonus.

This chili is a little soupy and a little sassy. Just how I like it. Sassy means spicy. Are we clear?

IMG_1193

Slow Cooked Chicken Chili
Yields about 8 Cups

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used fresh but frozen would work too. Maybe)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 can of kidney beans
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 can tomato sauce (Mine was 16 oz)
  • 1 bag of frozen corn
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes with green chilis (I used mild. Adam is mild.)
  • 1 package of chili seasoning (Or make your own, you crazy fools.)

Directions:

  1. In a slow cooker, combine all ingredients except for chicken. I didn’t drain or rinse any of the beans or tomatoes. If you’re finicky, feel free to do so but just make sure you add about a 1/2 cup of water to compensate. 
  2. Place chicken on top of mixture and press down slightly to submerge.
  3. Cook on low heat for 8 hours. Go to work, do your thang.
  4. Remove chicken from crock pot and shred. Place back into pot and stir.
  5. Try not to have a heart attack if you make canned biscuits with your chili. I swear, opening those cans is like a jack-in-the-box for lazy adults who can’t make their own biscuits. (Proud.)

Top that with cheese or rice or whatever you’d like. I won’t argue with you. ‘Merica.

Becka.

One thought on “Slow Cooked Chicken Chili.

Leave a Reply

