5 O’Clocktails: Pamplemousse Punch

Standard

So, I want to hit you guys with some knowledge. I’ve been drinking tonight. Actually, I’ve been drinking since 3:30 because I had plans of posting this cocktail and well, food blogging requires good lighting. And 5 o’clock is too late for good lighting. Hense the drinking. I mean, I had to test the recipe right? I don’t want to post a recipe that I haven’t tried. Then I would lose your trust. And that would make me frown. So, I did this for your benefit. Don’t judge me.

So, back to this drink. I heard that grapefruits are pretty good for you. So, I decided to put grapefruit in this alcoholic beverage. Nutrients.

Also, I was planning on this being pink…and apparently I bought the wrong kind of grapefruit. But it was delicously refreshing nonetheless. Every last drop. Don’t judge me.

Image

Pamplemousse Punch:
Yields about 2, 8 oz servings

Ingredients:

  • Juice from 1 Grapefruit, strained
  • Juice from 2 Limes, strained
  • 1/2 c. of Tequila (Te-kill-ya, if you ask me…Vodka would also work.)
  • 2-3 T simple syrup
  • 3/4 c. club soda (I used a can of Pamplemousse La Croix..which means grapefruit. Fancy)
  • Salt for the rims (I used a Himalayan Pink Sea Salt that I picked up from work. It’s pink. Fancy.)
  • Ice, ice baby. (Did I mention I’ve been drinking? Good. Forgive me.)

Directions:

  1. Juice them fruits. I got this handy little citrus juicer at Target for 4 bucks. I know. I love Target, too.
  2. Measure out the tequila and put into a cocktail shaker (or a lidded mason jar) then add the simple syrup and the fruit juice. Cover and shake well.
  3. Run the rind of a lime around the edge of a cocktail glass and dip into a bowl with a few teaspoons of salt. Work the glass around until the rim is covered in a light layer.
  4. Place a few ice cubes in the glass and pour about 1/3 cup of the club soda over the ice.
  5. Pour the shaken tequila mixture over the club soda and lightly stir until blended.
  6. Drink drank drunk. Repeat. Don’t drive. And be 21. Just covering my bases here.

Image

Happy Saturday, friends.

Becka

Leave a Reply

