Broccoli Cheddar Soup.

Standard

Alright, so I never understood this saying…but I’m going to use it anyways! It is colder than a witch’s titty outside. I mean, whatever that means, that’s what I mean. Everyone is all up in arms about there being some huge ice storm but I will fear nothing until I see it. The Weather Channel has cried wolf a few too many times this season. Yes, I’m looking at you, Weather Channel.

Anyways, as I was out frolicking around the ghetto trying to get my photo project done, I realized two things: 1. If someone is hollering and saying ‘Come here, Snowflake!’ they’re probably talking about you and not their lost dog… and B. I should probably invest in some gloves.

I came home and defrosted like that snowman in that Campbells commercial that they’ve been playing for 20 years and I decided what better way to warm up than to make soup. Obviously, there isn’t. Have you seen that commercial? I know you have.

I was also looking for an excuse to use my new kitchen toys that I was gifted. This was my chance. (PS: Is anyone else afraid of a food processor? It’s so aggressive!)

Image

Broccoli Cheddar Soup
Yields about 7 cups

Ingredients:

  • 3 heads of broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 1/2 c. butter
  • 1/3 c. flour
  • 2 c. milk
  • 2 c. half & half
  • 2 c. chicken broth
  • pinch of nutmeg (don’t be afraid!)
  • 3 c. (or more!) shredded cheese (I used New Zealand White Cheddar which I bought because I’ve been watching too much LOTR, sharp yellow and a bit of asiago. Do your thang.)
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, melt butter. Add onions and carrots and saute over medium heat for about 4 minutes or until the onions start to brown slightly.
  2. Add in the flour, stir and continue to cook for about a minute.
  3. Add in the milk, half and half, chicken broth, broccoli and nutmeg. Are you still with me? That was a big step. I’m proud of you.
  4. Reduce heat to low, and simmer for about 20 minutes or until the broccoli softens. Do not cover. Or you will have a hot mess of boiled milk. And that would make you frown.
  5. Add in the cheese and stir, continue to cook for an additional 2 minutes.
  6. You can end it there if you like a thicker soup but since my mansnack hates broccoli most of the time, I used an immersion blender to thin it out a bit. (If you don’t have one, use a blender but just make sure to take that plastic piece off before you close the lid. Or that would be another mess. I’ve got your back.)

Image

Top with some cheese and enjoy the fact that you’re not outside right now. Bliss.

Becka.

2 thoughts on “Broccoli Cheddar Soup.

  1. Jenny Portincaso

    Sounds delish. I love reading your blog Becka. Not only do you share delicious recipes, you are hysterical! Lucky Adam…

Leave a Reply

