Oatmeal Cream Pies.

Standard

I have three words for you. Are you ready?

Oatmeal. Cream. Pies.

Does that bring you back to 3rd grade when you would open the lunch that your mom made you and the only thing that appealed to you was the celophane wrapped cookies with cream filling? Oh, who am I kidding…I probably still do this. Not that I didn’t enjoy all those PB&J’s ma, I just really liked those snack cakes. Like, if I was a rapper, I would probably go by Lil’ Debbie. For reals.

As you get older, you realize that you can’t just eat snack cakes for lunch. Growing up sucks. It’s a trap. Give me all the Little Debbie!

I apologize for my hangry rant. 

But, you can make a batch of your own Oatmeal Cream Pies. And give them away so you don’t eat them all. But save a few for yourself because they are fantastic.

These cookies were a bit more chewy than the Originals. (I see what you did there, Debbie. I’m watching you, you coy bastard.) They were delicious nonetheless. And they were made with love. I guess. Happy Valentimes.

Image

I totally drank some milk before taking this picture. I am really professional.

Oatmeal Cream Pies:
Yields about 18 Cookie Pies
**I did not eat 18 Cookie Pies, I promise. Scouts Honor.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. butter, softened
  • 1 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. flour
  • 3 c. oats
  • 1 egg
  • 2 t. vanilla extract
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon

Directions:

  1. In a stand mixer, or with your Hulk arms, cream butter and sugars until smooth. 
  2. Add in the egg, vanilla and mix well.
  3. In a medium sized bowl, sift flour and mix with cinnamon, salt & baking soda. Mix and add in oats.
  4. Slowly add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, scraping down the bowl as you go to make sure everything is well incorporated. (Turn your mixer off before you start scraping, duh.)
  5. Drop by rounded tablespoont, 2″ apart, onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. (I didn’t have parchment paper. I lived without it.)
  6. Bake at 375 degrees for 8 minutes. Cool on cookie sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to finish cooling

For the Cream Filling:

(If you’re a big frosting fan, I suggest doubling the recipe.)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. butter, softened
  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 2 T whipping cream
  • pink food coloring (optional…but I’m just going to go ahead and say you should use it because it’s adorable. And this is my blog. So there.)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a stand mixer with the paddle attatchment. Set speed to low until combined then set to medium speed and beat until nice and fluffy. Beat itttt, just beat it. (I’m sorry I’m not sorry about that…)

Obviously, from here, you would take a cookie, fill it with a spoonful of filling, spread, and top with another cookie. And eat the hell out of it. Oh man, so good.

Wrap it up in plastic wrap and stick it in your favorite person’s lunch box. Or bring it to work. Or give it to your friends. I don’t know your life.

Becka

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cream Pies.

  1. Catherine

    Hulk hands? Remember when we made cupcakes sans a mixer and you screamed at me. Folks buy a mixer, please. But also, yum yum yum!

Leave a Reply

