Homemade Salted Caramels.

Standard

Ok, so, actually, I’m a little hesitant to post this recipe just because it is so ridiculously easy and maybe I just want to keep the illusion that I am a (self-proclaimed) domestic goddess. But, I’m feeling generous and hopefully you’ll make these and feel like one yourself. 

Image

Working for an orthodontist means that people are constantly bringing in goodies (How dare they–don’t they know I’m getting married!?), and over Christmas we got about 4 different boxes of homemade caramels from a pretty well known local candy shop that shall remain nameless. For their sake, you know. I don’t want to embarrass them by telling them that my caramels were better than theirs. (Na na na na na na!) 

I bought these nifty (I hate that word, why am I using it!?) little heart ice cube trays at Target because I am a woman and buy with my eyes instead of buying what is practical. So, in order to prove that they were a necessary purchase, I made heart shaped caramels. Don’t look at me. If you don’t have any shaped ice cube trays, you can use a jelly roll pan or a 13×9 casserole dish that’s been covered in wax paper. But then they won’t be fun. So you should probably go to Target and get some of these. Did I make you feel bad? I’m sorry. Square caramels would be just fine. 

Like the local favorite, these caramels are soft and melt in your mouth as you eat them. They are perfection, seriously. Trust me. 

 

Salted Caramels
Yields about 30 Caramels (If using the molds)

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. light caro syrup
  • 1/2 c. sweetened condensed milk
  • sea salt 

Directions:

  1. In a medium non-stick sauce pan, combine all ingredients except for the sea salt. Don’t get ahead of yourself. Stir over medium heat until combined. 
  2. Once the butter has melted and everything is mixed, turn heat down to low and cook for an additional 6 minutes, stirring occasionally so it doesn’t stick to the pan. 
  3. Set your ice cube trays on a cookie sheet, and carefully pour the hot caramel over the trays. Use a spatula to scrape off any excess caramel from the trays. Sprinkle lightly with sea salt. 
  4. Place cookie sheet in the freezer for about 10 minutes, or until the caramels are fully set. This just makes them easier to work with once you take them out of the molds.
  5. With clean hands, pop each caramel out of the tray and place in an airtight container or, if you’re fancy, wrap them in wax paper. But be careful not to smoosh the heart. That’s not what we’re about over here. 
  6. Store in the fridge until you are ready to use them or give them away. Do your thing. Eat 15 in one sitting, for all I care. You’re worth it. 

 

Image

 

They’re too good not to share. Maybe. 

Becka

One thought on “Homemade Salted Caramels.

  1. Dear lord. I am trying really hard not to eat butter or milk but I want one of these and I actually really want to make them. Perhaps someone special in San Jose will be getting these next week if I can make my way to target to buy an ice cube tray. 😉

Leave a Reply

