Baked Beer Mac & Cheese.

Standard

I have a confession to make, you guys:

I love cheese. I’m a borderline Liz Lemon when it comes to cheese. Like, I would probably put cheese in my beef stew if I had the choice. I would probably eat Cheesy Blasters if I had the choice. Can you tell I’m upset about 30 Rock Ending? (Wahhhhhhh!)

I’m working on my night cheese. Ok, that’s the last reference. I promise. (No I don’t.)

Okay, now that THAT’S settled, I decided to make something that had cheese in it. A lot of cheese. Oh, and beer. Are you excited? Me too. Me too, you guys.

I have attempted a Beer Mac before and I wasn’t too happy about it. Mainly because I thought it was gross and I wasted a perfectly good beer. But then, I attempted again…and used less beer…which turned out way better. And this was the result. Oh man, it was good. Really good. Food baby good. 

Image

Beer Mac & Cheese
Yields about 4 cups

Ingredients:

  • 2 c. macaroni (I used shells. I’m rebellious. Or I didn’t have macaroni.)
  • 2 c. milk 
  • 3 c. shredded cheddar (I used a blend of sharp cheddar, shredded american and swiss cheese. Dat’s just how I do.)
  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 1/4 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. panko 
  • 1 t. onion powder
  • 1 t. smoked paprika
  • 1 t. each salt & pepper
  • 1/4 c. beer (Drink the rest, duh.)

Directions:

  1. Cook the pasta according to the package directions, but do not overcook. The shells took a little longer to cook to al dente so for me it was about 10 minutes. Drain and set aside.
  2. In a medium sauce pan, melt the butter. Whisk in the flour and cook for a minute until slightly browned. Whisk in the milk, beer and seasonings and bring to a simmer. 
  3. Slowly whisk in 2 cups of the shredded cheese and cook for an additional 3 minutes until thickened.
  4. Add the cooked pasta to the cheese sauce and mix until well coated. 
  5. In a greased 8×8 casserole dish, spoon half of the pasta on the bottom of the dish and top with a 1/2 c of the remaining cheese. Spoon the remaining pasta over the cheese. 
  6. Sprinkle the panko over the pasta and top with the remaining cheese. Bake that puppy (No, not a real puppy. Why would anyone do that?) in a 375 degree oven for 20 minutes, or until the top is bubbly. 

Image

Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy. 

Becka

 

 

2 thoughts on “Baked Beer Mac & Cheese.

  1. I am a big fan of traditional mac and cheese but your addition of beer sounds quite interesting. I may have to give this a try! Also I love 30 rock too! Haven’t seen the last season yet but I rewatch the older eps all the time!

Leave a Reply

