Homemade Peanut Butter Cups.

Standard

Image

Happy Galentine’s Day! If you don’t know what Galentine’s Day is…I can’t even look at you. Google it before I lose my mind. Okay, you caught up? Good. Happy Galentine’s Day!

As an avid Parks & Rec fan, I’ve always loved the idea of Galentine’s Day. Celebrating the special ladies in your life is a really fun concept. I have some pretty fabulous ladies in my life, ya’ll. So to my ladies: I love you. Thanks for raising me, molding me, teaching me, loving me. Thank you for your unconditional love and friendship. You are all beautiful, talented, brilliant and powerful musk oxen. (If you know what I mean.)

To celebrate this glorious occasion, I made some peanut butter cups. Because nothing satisfies a female like peanut butter and chocolate. Or Ryan Gosling. Hey, girl. 

Image

These were simple, fantastic, and pretty festive if you use some cute cupcake liners. Oh, and they’re big enough that you have to eat them with a fork. So, package them up and give them to one of your Galentines. Make their dang day.

 

Homemade Peanut Butter Cups:
Makes 8 Large Cups

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. butter
  • 3/4 c. creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 c. powdered sugar (I just typed ‘shugur’ because Sister Wives is distracting me)
  • 3/4 c. graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 2 c. chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet. Because I’m semi-sweet, I guess. I’ve used white chocolate before and they were phenomenal.)

Directions:

  1. In a medium sized microwave-safe bowl, place butter and peanut butter. Melt in the microwave at 30 second intervals and stir until butter is melted and mixture is well combined.
  2. Stir in the crumbs & sugar to the peanut butter mixture and set aside to cool.
  3. Line a cupcake pan with 8 liners and set aside. 
  4. Melt the chocolate chips with the milk in a small saucepan until smooth. Spoon chocolate into the liners to coat the bottom of the cups. Place in the freezer for a few minutes to slightly harden.
  5. Divide the peanut butter mixture among the 8 cups and press down slightly to flatten. Top with the remaining chocolate until all the cups are well coated.
  6. Put the cups in the freezer until set, about 20 minutes.

They are fabulous at room temperature, but pretty messy. Hense the fork. The texture of the cups are a bit crunchy compared to a traditional peanut butter cup but trust me, they’re delicious. 

Image

Enjoy, you beautiful rule-breaking moth.

Becka

Leave a Reply

