Easy Homemade Ice Cream.

Standard

Sorry for the crickets around here–I’ve been busy wrangling a new puppy. Adam and I are not really the impulsive type, we brought home a dog when we first started dating who was happily adopted by my in-law’s and has lived there with them for a few years. While I love my cats to death, I missed the companionship of having a dog. So, Friday night, we went out for beer and came home with a puppy. We are smart.

SONY DSC

This recipe was in my Valentine’s Day aresenal (what…?) and I just didn’t have the time to post it. That’s what I get for making an arsenal in the first place. My spare time these days is next to none so a recipe like this is perfect.

I worked at an ice cream shop for years and actually had part in making the ice cream,  which involved dumping what we called a ‘bladder’ into an ice cream machine and being done with it. Yes, a bladder. There are no bladders involved in this recipe. Because that’s gross. Since then, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with ice cream. I think when you work with something for so long that you just get tired of it. I wish I had this problem with cake.

I decided to make my own ice cream. I don’t have an ice cream maker but I did have some strawberries that needed a new home. Then I began my quest.

SONY DSC

Homemade No-Churn Ice Cream:
Yields about 2 quarts

Ingredients:

  • 2 c. heavy cream
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • mix-in ingredients of your choice, I used 1 c. freshly chopped strawberries

Directions:

  1. In a stand mixer with the whisk attatchment (or you can use hand beaters over a large mixing bowl), pour in the heavy cream and whisk until stiff peaks form like whipped cream. It took about 5 minutes on high. Don’t whisk it too long or it will become butter. 
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the sweetened condensed milk and the mix-in’s of your choice until well incorporated.
  3. Gently fold in the milk mixture into the whipped cream and gently mix until combined.
  4. Pour into a covered 2 quart container and freeze until set–it took about 6 hours for me.

You’re done!

You made ice cream. How cool are you? The texture was the only real difference between the homemade and store bought but if you let it sit out for a few minutes before scooping, you can’t tell the difference at all. Just fresh ice cream. Yum.

I’ll have some puppy spam later this week–if only I could get her still enough to take a decent picture. Someday.

Becka

Leave a Reply

