From Scratch: Garlic Dill Pickles

Standard

Man, oh man. Puppies are hard work. I feel like I have an infant in my house. A long-nailed, barking, crazy infant that pees all over the floor right after I take her outside. But she’s so cute. So, I guess it’s worth it.

So, we’re going to be spending more of our burger nights at home. Which, I am pretty happy about. I make a mean turkey burger. I mean, it’s not mean. Do you know what I mean? But it’s really good. Maybe I’ll share my secret sometime. There needs to be some mystery in this relationship.

Image

I started making my own pickles last year out of curiosity…and I love them. Loooove them. Adam loves them too. Puts them on a plate and eats them by themselves, loves them. And they’re so easy. Frick. Yes.

These pickles are fresh, crunchy, garlicy (is this a word?), and delicious. And did I meantion easy? Ok, good.

Image

Homemade Garlic Dill Pickles
(Filled a Pint Sized Mason Jar)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cucumber, sliced thin
  • 1/2 c. white vinegar
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 t salt
  • 4 sprigs fresh dill
  • 1 t peppercorns
  • 5 cloves garlic, chopped

Directions:

  1. Slice the cucumber thinly and set aside. In pint sized mason jar, line the bottom of the jar with the dill sprigs, peppercorns and chopped garlic. 
  2. In a mixing bowl, pour the vinegar and the water and stir. Add in the salt and sugar and stir until dissolved.
  3. Stack the cucumber slices in the jar until filled, pour in vinegar mixture. Close lid and gently shake.
  4. Refrigerate the pickles overnight and enjoy.

For a spicier pickle, you can add in a teaspoon of red pepper flakes to give them some heat. They are fantastic on burgers. I’ve been known to bring a batch to barbeque’s and they disappear. These will last in the refrigerator for about 4 months. The more they sit, the less crunchy they become. And that’s sad. So just eat them all and be done with it.

Image

Becka

One thought on “From Scratch: Garlic Dill Pickles

Leave a Reply

