From Scratch: Ginger Ale.

Standard

Is anyone else a big whiny baby about getting sick? Just me? Don’t lie. Being sick is the pits. With a capital ‘P’. Working in the orthodontic field means I am constantly around sick kids who cough in my face while I’m working on them. (Too much? You still with me? Good.) And, regardless of how many times I wash my hands or change my gloves or pop Vitamins like they’re candy–I get sick more often than I’d like. I apparently have the immune system of a 100-year-old woman. Don’t ask me where I came up with that logic. Even I don’t know.

When I was younger, Ginger Ale and crackers were the end-all cure-all to my aching belly. As an adult, they are what I crave when I had too much to drink the night before. Well, that and a Croissanwich from Burger King. Now I really want a Croissanwich. Frick! Why am I doing this to myself?!

Image

Alright. I’ve calmed down. Back to this Ginger Ale business. I have been curious about this project for a while. And, the recipe seemed pretty fool-proof. So I got down to business. It’s business time. Anyone? 

For this project, you will need an empty Two-Liter bottle with a cap. I’m not asking that much. Figure it out.

Homemade Ginger Ale
Method adapted from here

Ingredients:

  • The juice from 1 lemon
  • 3 T freshly grated ginger
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/4 t. active dry yeast
  • Cold water

Image

Directions: 

  1. In a small sauce pan, place one cup cold water, the sugar, grated ginger and the lemon juice. Whisk until sugar dissolves and simmer over low heat for about 5 minutes or until the mixture is slightly bubbling. (Your house is going to smell amazing. I’m warning you now.) Set that aside and allow to steep for about an hour to incorporate the flavors. 
  2. Strain the mixture over a fine mesh strainer set over a large measuring cup. Press down on the ginger pulp to get out any excess liquid. Place the mixture in the freezer for about 5 minutes, or until it is brought to room temperature (so you don’t kill the yeast. Science)
  3. Using a funnel (or skills), pour the cooled syrup mixture into the clean two-liter bottle. Add in the yeast and fill the bottle to the neck with cold water. Cap the bottle, and gently shake the bottle to mix the yeast.
  4. Leave the bottle at room temperature for 48 hours. This is important if you want a carbonated drink. Which you do. So, do it.
  5. After it has been sitting, you may now refrigerate the ginger ale. Pour it over ice. Add whiskey and a lemon slice. Do your thing.

Image

If you’re weary of using the yeast or you don’t feel like waiting 2 days for soda, simply make the ginger syrup, strain it and place it in an airtight container in the fridge. When you’re ready to serve, pour a few tablespoons of the syrup over ice and top with club soda. Stir and add more syrup until you’re happy with the flavor. Garnish with a lemon slice.

This drink was extremely flavorful and, much to my surprise, very carbonated. Dee-licious.

Becka

2 thoughts on “From Scratch: Ginger Ale.

Leave a Reply

