Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette.

Aside

I have a confession to make: I absolutely 100% hate mayonnaise. Ugh. Even typing that word bummed me out. I’m sorry, but anything that is made out of eggs and is stable at room temperature makes me gag. The smell…oh man. I have recurring nightmares of a mayo-filled water balloon getting thrown at me. I’m serious. I have to avoid the aisle at the grocery store because seeing the varying shades and varieties of that yellow-ish slop makes me want to cry. Oh, you’re one of the billions of people in the world that loves mayonnaise? I’m sorry I offended you (No, I’m not.)

Because of my hatred for anything made from that nasty spread, I am often turned off by most salad dressings. I once attempted to make ranch dressing out of greek yogurt. It was good. My interest was sparked and in came the idea to attempt another salad dressing.

Have you ever had a Potbelly sandwich? Good. Have you ever gotten a side of their Garlic Vinaigrette on the side and dipped your sandwich in it? No? Totally. Me either. Who would do that? (I totally do this.)

Anyways, it’s delicious and I decided to attempt my own version since they discontinued it. I cried. It’s totally okay to cry over discontinued salad dressings. There are dozens of us…

SONY DSC

Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette
Makes 1 cup

Ingredients:

  • 25-30 cloves of fresh, peeled garlic (No, my lazy ass did NOT peel 30 cloves of garlic. I bought them that way.)
  • 1/2 c. extra-virgin olive oil (What makes something an extra virgin?)
  • 1/4 c. apple cider vinegar (I like parenthesis.)
  • 1 T balsamic vinegar
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1/2 t.  kosher salt
  • 1 t. cracked black pepper
  • 1 T honey

Directions:

  1. After your garlic has been peeled (or you open your container and fish out enough ready-to-use cloves), place in a small pile on a piece of aluminum foil that’s just big enough to fold over the garlic in a packet. Drizzle the cloves with a small amount of olive oil and sprinkle on the salt and pepper. Seal up the aluminum foil packet and place on a cookie sheet and bake in a 375 degree oven for 45 minutes. 
  2. Once the garlic has been roasted (and you’ve taste tested a few cloves because they’re fanfrickentastic), place the softened garlic in the bowl of a food processor (or blender, y’all.)
  3. Drizzle in the remaining ingredients and gently pulse until completely combined. This dressing is a bit thicker because of the garlic so don’t be discouraged if it doesn’t come out completely runny. That would be gross.
  4. Salt & Pepper to taste. Do the damn thing.

SONY DSC

Works great as a marinade for chicken or, obviously, a great salad dressing. Or, a dipping sauce for a sandwich. Liz Lemon style. Always.

Becka

One thought on “Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette.

  1. At first, I was totally like “Who in world doesn’t like Mayo?! It’s the nectar of the gods?!!” and then I rememebered I don’t like cheese. And I know that’s pretty weird, sooooo I guess we are even. 😉

Leave a Reply

