Roasted Lemon Parmesan Asparagus.

Standard

Alright, so Easter is upon us. And while I am not a religious person, Easter is still pretty fun. More fun when I was a kid and my parents still made me an Easter basket. And by kid, I mean I got one every year until I moved out. I was almost 21. There are perks to having a younger sibling, I tell you! And those perks are sugar covered marshmallows shaped like chickens and cream filled chocolate eggs.

Ok. So this is not a dessert post. Quite the opposite. This is a fantastic vegetable side dish that would be perfect for your Easter gathering. And, on every other day of the year, would be great as a side dish to chicken or steak or just eat the whole pan by yourself and suffer through the week-long Asparagus pee. You know what I’m talking about. This here is real.

This is a staple at all of our family gatherings. It’s pretty much the only thing that isn’t covered in gravy. They are simple to prepare and you will never want to eat asparagus another way again. Trust me, I’m a doctor. (No,I’m not…)

Image

Roasted Lemon Parmesan Asparagus 
(Adapted from Food Network)
Serves 2 

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound fresh asparagus
  • 2 T olive oil
  • the juice from half of a lemon
  • 2 T parmesan (grated or shredded. I will never discriminate against cheese.)
  • kosher salt & cracked black pepper to taste

Directions: 

  1. Trim the ends off of the asparagus and discard. In a glass casserole dish (or cookie sheet), place the asparagus in a single layer. Drizzle asparagus with olive oil and turn to coat. Sprinkle with salt and cracked pepper. Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes or until fork tender and slightly crispy at the ends (this will depend on the thickness of your asparagus–the thinner they are, the less time they’ll need. Maybe around 20 minutes)
  2. Squeeze the lemon over the roasted asparagus and top with parmesan cheese. Return to the oven for an additional 2-3 minutes, or until the cheese is melted. You could always pop it under the broiler for a minute or two until the cheese is browned and fantastic. But that’s just me.

Image

Believe me, you’ll love it. And you’ll be surprised how much you love it. And that’s alright. I had the same reaction to Sister Wives. Everything is fine. Sorry about the asparagus pee (No, I’m not…). You’re welcome, world.

Becka.

Leave a Reply

