Chocolate Avocado Pudding.

Standard

So, call me crazy (or, actually…don’t. I don’t like being called names) but I am not too fond of avocados. I don’t like guac. I don’t care for it sliced or raw. Nope nope nope. Not for me.

And you know what they say: if at first you don’t like something, make a pudding out of it with chocolate. People say that, I think. Probably not.

I’ve been trying to cut some of the crap out of my diet considering I don’t know, I have to be in front of people and be photographed in a wedding dress in less than 8 months. So, I’ve been looking for new dessert recipes that don’t make me feel like crying naked in front of the mirror while I eat them. People do that too.

I was hesitant at first because, like I said, I am not an avocado person. I didn’t even know how to open one, you guys. Yet, I was completely blown away by this. The texture and flavor was spot on. Like, even Bill Cosby would be impressed. And you know, I spend most of my time trying to impress Bill Cosby.

Image

Look at those shadows! Clearly intentional. With my goblin finger.

Chocolate Avocado Pudding
Yields 4, 1/2 c. servings

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sized avocados, ripened 
  • 1/4 c. cocoa powder (or more if you’re feeling fancy)
  • 1/4 c. honey or agave nectar (I used a little more because I added too much cocoa on accident. Whoops. Just add it in per your sweetness preference. That’s a thing.)
  • 1/4 c. milk (I used vanilla almond milk. It was good.)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract (You could also use 1 tsp mint extract instead and have chocolate peppermint pudding. Just sayin’.)
  • Pinch of sea salt

Directions:

  1. Cut open avocado and remove from the skin, discard skin and pit. Place the avocados in a food processor and pulse until slightly chopped. 
  2. Add in the remainder of the ingredients and blend until you reach your desired consistency, scraping down the sides of the bowl as you go. If the pudding is too thick, feel free to add more milk, blending in 1 tablespoon at a time.

Image

This was really decadent and almost tasted like cake frosting. You can top with fresh fruit and a dollop of whipped cream like I did here and call it dessert. How good would this be in little containers for a lunch time treat? I’m also thinking that next time I make it, I’ll add in half of a ripe banana and see how it turns out. Anything chocolate banana has to be good, right?

Trust me on this. You should make it.

Becka

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Avocado Pudding.

  1. Looks absolutely mouthwatering! I can’t believe that avocado and chocolate blends well, but I must try this recipe. And don’t worry, my darn goblin fingers are always in the way of my photographs as well, haha!

Leave a Reply

