Black Bean Brownies.

Standard

Did I scare you with the title? Don’t be frightened. Everything is fine.

So, being pretty far away from my wedding dress figure, I decided to try and start baking healthier desserts. Considering my future hubs is a bottomless pit that can eat an entire apple pie in one sitting and not gain a pound, I’m sort of on my own here. And home girl loves chocolate. Everything that is good in life involves chocolate. And bacon. But, let’s not go there.

Image

Enter: black bean brownies. Believe me, I was as skeptical as you. But, just like the pudding I made recently, I was more than pleasantly suprised. The texture was more cake-like than brownie at first but after letting it sit for a few hours, it had a more dense texture. Does that make sense? I don’t care. This is my blog and I can be confusing if I want to.

Image

Black Bean Brownies
Adapted from Here
Yields 16 Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (15.5 oz) can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 T. greek yogurt (or 3 T vegetable oil if you have that on hand)
  • 1/4 c. cocoa powder
  • 3/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp. instant coffee (Optional. Mine had a pretty strong coffee taste.)
  • 1/2 c. chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Drain and rinse black beans and place into a food processor, pulse until completely smooth. Mine took a few minutes because the bowl of my food processor isn’t that big. If you don’t have a food processor, by all means use a blender. I won’t stop you.
  2. Remove blade and scoop out black bean puree. Place into the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment and set speed to low. Slowly add in all ingredients until well combined.
  3. Grease an 8×8 baking dish with non-stick spray and pour batter into it. The batter will have a thinner consitensy than a boxed mix that you’re probably used to. Sprinkle with extra chocolate chips and bake at 350 degrees for 18-22 minutes, or until set and brownies start to pull from the sides of the pan.
  4. Cool completely before serving. Sprinkle with powdered sugar, top with chocolate icing or warm in the microwave and top with a scoop of vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt. Yummmmmm.

Image

When I was done with these, I gave Adam a bite and told him to guess the secret ingredient. He said coffee. I said black beans. His eyes boggled. Mind blown.

Becka

Leave a Reply

