Homemade Marshmallows.

Standard

Life update, y’all: The future hubz and I are moving in a few weeks. We will be renting a house on the nicer side of town. A house! Oh man, I’m excited. Then I think about moving…down all of our stairs…and I get a big frown on my face and I don’t even want to think about moving. Plus, I love my home now. But, when we leave I’ll get to decorate a whole new place and suddenly I’m excited again. I know, I’m impossible. Did I mention I’m a girl?

We are trying to get rid of the stuff in our pantry and cabinets so we have less to move. I know. We’re so smart. Which brings us to my latest experiment: Marshmallows. I had exactly enough sugar left in my jar to make this recipe. That’s what you call meant to be, you guys. They’re actually a lot easier to make than you might think and forget about using a candy thermometer–ain’t nobody got time for that. Or in my case, money for that.

Image

Homemade Marshmallows:
Yields a 13×9 Sheet of Marshmallows (size and number will vary depending on how you cut them obviously)
Recipe adapted from Here

Ingredients:

  • 3 (1/4 oz) envelopes unflavored gelatin 
  • 1 cup cold water, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract (for flavored marshmallows use any flavored extract you’d like. Mint, strawberry, root beer–whatever you’d like. For chocolate, use a Tbsp. of cocoa powder. Am I blowing your mind with possibilites?)
  • Food coloring (Optional. But fun. Fun is always fun.)
  • Powdered sugar (about 1/4 cup or less for sprinkling on the finished marshmallows)

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, place 1/2 cup of the cold water and stir in the gelatin. Let it sit for 5 minutes while you prepare the corn syrup mixture.
  2. In a large saucepan, combine the remaining 1/2 cup of water, sugar and corn syrup and whisk until dissolved over medium heat. Crank the heat to high and allow mixture to boil for approximately 8 minutes. Do not stir. Remove from heat.
  3. Set the mixer to low. The gelatin will have solidified. Slowly (and carefully unless you want a scorched face) pour in the hot sugar mixture. Once it is combined, set the mixer to medium speed for 2 minutes.  Slowly add in the salt vanilla extract and food coloring, if using. Mix until combined. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and then set the speed to high for about 10 minutes.
  4. After whisking for 10 minutes, the mixture will become thick and fluffy. This is great. Spray a 13×9 inch baking dish liberally with non-stick spray. Pour the marshmallow mixture into the dish and spread to cover the bottom. It sounds a lot easier than it was–it’s just a bit sticky. Wet your fingers (I’m just hoping they’re clean) and use them to press the mixture into the corners of the pan and smooth out the top. It doesn’t have to be perfect.
  5. Dust liberally with powdered sugar and cover with plastic wrap. Let sit until it has solidified (I had it in the fridge over night). Once solid, flip the sheet of marshmallow and dust the bottom side with powdered sugar. Cut into shapes with cookie cutters or just use a sharp knife. If you plan on storing them, place in a large ziplock bag and add some additional powdered sugar to the bag. Toss to coat and store in the fridge until ready to use.

Image

Rather make some marshmallow pops? Place sticks into cut marshmallows and place on a cookie sheet lined with wax paper. Freeze for 20-30 minutes until solid and dip into melted chocolate. And sprinkles. And coconut. And everything that is good in life. Freeze until set and store in the fridge.

Image

Perfect for chocolate fondue or…my favorite…s’mores. I guess I’ll settle for hot chocolate until we get our fire pit at our new place. Priorities, you guys. And yes, I chose hearts and squirrels. Don’t question me. Just trust me. I sound like a serial killer. My apologies.

Becka

One thought on “Homemade Marshmallows.

  1. We made these once, didnt seem like it made alot so I made 3 times the recipee…. wee ended up cutting them into long strips and putting then in airtight containers and just cutting off chunks into our hot cocoa and coffee. They werent as pretty, but sure are tasty!

Leave a Reply

