Donut Muffins with Chocolate Glaze.

Standard

Ok, so, don’t act like you don’t wake up and crave a donut. Especially after all the wine you drank the night before. Sometimes donuts just hit the spot.

And sometimes, there’s a Dunkin Donuts less than a quarter mile from your front steps but your hair has rat nest status and it’s cold and you just plain don’t want to leave your pajamas. Welcome to my morning, you guys.

Image

I needed some blog inspiration so I thought maybe I could make donuts. Most of the recipes I found, however, required a deep fryer or a special donut pan and well, I’m just not that fancy. Maybe after I register for my wedding I will be that fancy.

Enter: Donut Muffins. I was skeptical about how these were going to turn out but let me tell you, they are almost identical to a freshly made chocolate glazed donut. My waist line is furious. (Don’t worry, I didn’t eat that many. Shhhhhhhh.)

Image

Donut Muffins:
Yields 1 Dozen

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted
  • 1 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 T. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. allspice
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 c. milk
  • 1/4 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/4 c. butter, melted
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions: 

  1. Mix all dry ingredients until well combined. Slowly add in the remaining ingredients and mix until completely smooth and combined.
  2. Grease a 12 ct. cupcake pan well (I mean, well!) with non-stick baking spray. Spoon 2 heaping Tablespoons of batter into each cup until divided evenly among the 12 cups.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for 18 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  4. Allow to cool in the cupcake tin for 5-10 minutes and then remove and set on a cookie sheet to cool completely. If they stick (which mine did…I guess I didn’t spray my pan WELL enough. Hint hint), use a paring knife to slowly cut around each muffin to release them.
  5. Once completely cooled, dip into chocolate glaze and top with sprinkles. Glaze will take about 30 minutes to harden. Eat eat eat.

Image

Chocolate Glaze:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 T. cocoa powder
  • 1-2 T. milk
  • 1/2 t. vanilla extract

Directions: 

  1. Whisk all ingredients until well combined, thicken with powdered sugar if needed and thin out with milk if you thicken it too much. Yin and yang. I think.

You’re welcome.

Becka

Leave a Reply

