From Scratch: Hummus.

Standard

Salutations from my new house! Today is officially my first day to rest since we moved and holy crap, all I wanted to do was mope around sans-bra for the entire day. My plan was foiled by my complicated day with AT&T but it all payed off in the end. I’m watching Paula Deen from the comfort of my new couch. Boom, y’all.

I decided that since my day was so rough, I should make myself a snack. I opened the cabinets and tried to decide what to make…and found some slim pickin’s, y’all (Can you tell I’ve been watching Paula Deen?). I haven’t really grocery shopped in weeks. As a (mostly) food blogger, this is blasphemy. I always have ingredients! I had no ingredients! (Said in my best whiny Tom Haverford voice) At the back of my pantry, however, I found a can of Chickpeas that I bought on accident. Don’t ask me how that happened. Apparently I put things in my cart in a trance at the grocery store. This is my life.

I don’t know of any other use for chickpeas than to make hummus. Don’t tell me you do either. Apparently you need Tahini to make hummus. I didn’t have Tahini. Shit, I didn’t even have Panko and I ALWAYS have Panko. That’s like a rule in my kitchen. (I mean, PPPP?) So, I skipped the Tahini and threw in a few things I had on hand. And then I dragged myself to the grocery store. And I was wearing a bra.

Image

Hummus:
Yields about 2 cups 

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (about 16 oz) chickpeas 
  • 1/4 c. liquid from can of chickpeas
  • 1 medium lemon, juiced (about 3 T)
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp. cumin
  • 3 T extra virgin olive oil

Directions: 

  1. Open chickpeas and reserve 1/4 c. liquid. Pour chickpeas into a strainer and rinse, pat dry with a paper towel to absorb some of the water. 
  2. Place chickpeas into a food processor (or blender), cover and pulse until slightly combined.
  3. Mix the remaining ingredients in a liquid measuring cup and set aside. Slowly pour liquid mixture into the food processor, pulsing until completely combined and hummus is smooth.
  4. Spoon hummus into a serving dish and top with some more olive oil and sprinkle with some smoked paprika or fresh herbs. Do your thang.

Image

As you can tell by these photos, I didn’t really have anything to dip into the hummus. I’m really good at this. In a perfect world I would have a fresh pita and some vegetables to dip in the hummus. I had a spoon. And that’s all she wrote.

Becka.

Leave a Reply

