Caprese Toast with Homemade Balsamic Vinaigrette.

Standard

Sweaty Becka Season is officially in session. Well, it’s raining today. But tomorrow it will probably be back. And I will cry.

With more of our monthly income going towards rent, I have to open the windows when it gets stuffy instead of my usual instinct to sit in air conditioning until my eyes freeze over. When the weather gets warmer, my enthusiasm for using the oven decreases. Why make my house hotter? Are you fo’ real? 

Thankfully, most things are in season during the Summmer months, so fresh fruit and vegetables seem to overload my fridge and pantry. The biggest gripe I have is how quickly fresh food can spoil, so I’m working with a specific timeline between ripe and rotten. My motto: plan your meals around your fresh produce and if all else fails, make a soup with the leftovers from the week. Everyone likes soup. Don’t be ridiculous.

I decided to make some quick Vinagrettes for the pounds of spring mix that are stuffed in my refrigerator drawers. That sounds creepy. Sorry. This balsamic one is pretty fantastic if I do say so myself. Easy, zesty (Zesty!), and uses everyday ingredients that you probably have in the house. Use it for salads or what have you, or whip up this easy Caprese-inspired toast. Whip it good. (Who am I? Seriously?)

Image

                                                 

Balsamic Vinaigrette
Adapted from Here
Yields about 1 cup

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4 c. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 2 T water
  • 3 T brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper

Directions: 

Combine all ingredients in a mason jar, close the lid and shake until combined completely. Chill until ready to use.

Image

For the toasts: 

Toast a slice (or however many you’re hangry for) of crusty bread (I used sourdough) and spread some goat cheese on it (I love parenthesis). Chop a small tomato (or a few cherry tomatoes) and salt and pepper to taste. Throw (yes, throw) the tomatoes on the toast and top with some fresh basil. I used basil from the plant I have on my porch because I’m real fancy. Drizzle the balsamic vinaigrette over the top of the toast and sprinkle with a little shaved parm. Not a traditional caprese, but whatever. I do what I want. And yes, I took these pictures outside. It was nice out. Everyone, calm down.

Becka

Leave a Reply

