Simple Marinara Sauce.

Standard

Let me tell you something about carbs: I love them. Good golly do I love them. I hate how much I love them. And seriously, is there anything better than pasta slathered in fresh marinara sauce? Doubtful. Well, cake. But that doesn’t work here. We can’t put marinara on cake…

I’ve been toying with making sauces for a while. I tried a slow-cooked marinara that used fresh tomatoes. It took 8 hours and it was DISGUSTING. And I mean it. I’ve tried different variations of canned tomatoes since then: diced, sauced, pasted. But I think I found the perfect combination. And, it’s so easy it’s almost ridiculous. And nobody has to know that you didn’t slave over a hot stove all day. Your time is much better spent reading my blog, duh. This recipe yields about 6 cups, which will provide you will lots of marinara sauce. I keep a jar in my fridge for English Muffin pizzas or dipping sauce for late-night-mozarella stick-bad-decisions. That’s a thing. Don’t judge me. You can always throw the rest in a ziplock bag and freeze it until you need it and then just heat through in a sauce pan. Boom.

Image

Marinara Sauce:
Yields 6 Cups

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. chopped yellow onion
  • 3 T. EVOO
  • 2 T. minced garlic (I used 3. I love garlic. Don’t look at me or smell my breath.)
  • 2 (24 oz) cans of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 6 oz. can tomato paste
  • 3 T. white sugar
  • 3 T. light brown sugar (Trruuuuust meeeee)
  • 1 T. dried oregano
  • 1 T. dried basil
  • 2 tsp. pepper
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • pinch of red pepper flakes (optional…but it gives it a little pizzazz. Yep.)

Image

Directions:

  1. Place olive oil in a large skillet and heat over a medium flame. Add in garlic and onions and cook over medium heat until onions are browned and softened, about 5 minutes, stirring frequently. The browner, the better. That’s just a cool way of saying that I burned mine a bit and it still turned out delicious.
  2. Add in the remaining ingredients and stir until well combined. Turn down heat to low and cook covered for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Put that shit on anything. So good.

Image

Pizza burgers? Grilled pizza? Chicken Parm? Eat it with a spoon? Absolutely. It is perfect.

Thanks for cringing through my photos. I’m still getting a handle on my lack of natural light in my new kitchen. Shadows! Ugh!

Becka.

2 thoughts on “Simple Marinara Sauce.

Leave a Reply

