Vegetable Stuffed Mushrooms For Two.

Standard

Have you ever gone grocery shopping while ravenously hungry? Totally guilty. I come home with tons of different food because, well, everything sounds good at the time. And then I get home and have a countertop full of groceries and the cookies that I pretend are for my dude are looking more and more tempting by the second. And I have a cookie. And then I take a step back and realize that I bought groceries and I should stop eating cookies. And then I cry a little because I really want another cookie. I looked at all of my options and decided to try something new. 

Stuffed mushrooms are typically stuffed with different types of cheese, sometimes even mayo (BARF! GAG! YIKES! YUCK!), bacon, breadcrumbs and then more cheese. So instead of a calorie-filled binge, I decided to be more sensible so I can have more cookies later. Win, win. 

These stuffed mushrooms are easy, healthy, and, if you close your eyes, taste like a pizza. Well, you don’t have to close your eyes. That’s optional. But seriously.

Image

Ingredients:

  • 2 large portobella mushroom caps 
  • 3/4 c. fresh mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 small zucchini squash, diced
  • 1 bell pepper (I used orange because orange is pretty and I said so), diced
  • 2 large handfulls of baby spinach 
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 c. mozzarella cheese 
  • 2 T. shredded parm 
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Remove stems and gills from the mushrooms, and wipe rounded part of cap with a damp paper towel to clean. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and lightly spray with non-stick spray. Place mushroom caps rounded side down onto the foil and set aside.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large saute pan over medium heat until hot. Add in the minced garlic and all of the vegetables except the spinach. Saute over medium heat until vegetables soften, about 8 minutes. 
  3. Add in spinach and slowly fold into the sauteed vegetables. Stir in Italian seasoning and salt and pepper, continue to cook until spinach is wilted, about 3 minutes.
  4. Fold in the mozzarella cheese until combined and divide mixture in half. Spoon mixture over prepared mushroom caps and press down to fill. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of Parmesan cheese onto each mushroom.
  5. To create the foil packet, place a larger sheet of aluminum foil on top of the baking sheet and fold in the sides, creating a tightly sealed packet. Place baking sheet in the oven and bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. 
  6. Remove baking sheet from oven and set aside for 3 minutes. Carefully open foil packet (Steam, ya’ll) with a knife and dole out those mushrooms.

Image

This dish can be made with whatever vegetables or cheese you have on hand, but I do suggest sauteing the vegetables before hand. It is vegetarian in nature but I could totally see a more decadent mushroom made from panchetta, spinach and a little goat cheese. Why didn’t I think of that before I started? Just kidding. These are delicious just the way they are. 

Image

Serve along side a big salad or a grilled chicken breast, depending on how hangry you are.  Top with some marinara if you’re feeling fancy. Do your thing. Enjoy.

Becka.

One thought on “Vegetable Stuffed Mushrooms For Two.

Leave a Reply

