Chicken Enchiladas with Chili Cream Sauce.

Standard

I’m going to tell you a little fun fact about my husband-to-be: when I met him he was a vegetarian. Correction, he was a vegetarian that didn’t like vegetables. Actually, a vegetarian that only ate scrambled eggs with cheese and cheese pizza. I was dating a 19-year-old 5-year-old. But his handsomeness made up for his picky-ness. And, by the power of gyros, he wasn’t a vegetarian for long. I like to say that I turned him on to alcohol and meat. It’s all my fault.

I used to cook for him when I lived at my parents. We used to buy groceries and keep them in my mini-fridge in my room and we used to use his parents garage refrigerator to hold all of our stuff. He started trying more food and liking more food. However, he was still convinced that he didn’t like Mexican food. I mean, come on! I wish I didn’t like Mexican food! My jeans would fit much better, that’s for certain.

Somewhere along the way, we ended up at a Mexican restaurant and he approved. So I was really excited that I could finally make fajitas at home and we could frequent El Burrito Loco as much as I wanted.

This meal is really cheap to make. Like, ridiculously cheap. Way cheaper than getting them at a Mexican restaurant. And, actually, way better. And there aren’t people around to judge you for drinking a gallon sized margarita with your meal. You can be an alcoholic in the comfort of your own cat-print pajamas and enjoy a restaurant-worthy meal. Everybody wins.

Image

Chicken Enchiladas with Chili Cream Sauce
Makes 6 Large Enchiladas, Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 large boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 1/2 c. frozen corn (or one can, y’all)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (I used Rotel and it was pretty kickin’. Yes, kickin’. Shutup.)
  • 2 c. Colby jack cheese, divided
  • 6 large “fajita” flour tortillas
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions: 

  1. Combine beans, corn and tomatoes in the bottom of a slow cooker and stir. Season chicken breast with salt and pepper and place into slow cooker. Cover chicken with bean mixture and cover. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.
  2. Shred chicken with a fork and transfer mixture to a large bowl. Stir in one cup of cheese and set aside.
  3. Spoon a heaping amount of filling into a tortilla, roll tortilla and place crease-side down into a 9×9 inch baking dish. Repeat process until you’ve used the majority of the filling and you’ve filled the baking dish. I had 5 rolled tortillas going horizontal and 1  going vertical to fill the pan. If you use smaller tortillas, you will obviously need to fit them in a different way. I trust you.

To make the Chili Cream Sauce…

Ingredients:

  • 2 T butter
  • 2 T flour
  • 1 c. chicken broth
  • 1 c. sour cream
  • 1 small can of green chilis (they’re mild. Mild enough for Adam. So, really mild.)
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • salt & pepper

Directions:

  • Melt butter in a medium sauce pan over medium heat, whisk in flour until dissolved and continue to cook for 1 minute until mixture is golden brown. Whisk in chicken broth, garlic powder, salt and pepper and continue to stir until mixture is thickened, about 3 minutes. Stir in chilis and remove from heat. Slowly stir in sour cream.

4. Pour sauce over rolled tortillas and top with remaining 1 cup cheese. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. To finish, place baking pan under the broiler for 3-4 minutes, or until the top is golden and bubbly and you want to stick your face into it even though you’d end up in the hospital.

Image

Obviously there is room for substitution here. If you don’t have the time to slow cook the chicken with the beans, cook the vegetables separately and boil the chicken until it’s shred-ready. Google it. Or, use a rotisserie chicken. Or no chicken! To make it vegetarian, omit the chicken broth for vegetable and add in extra veggies or tempeh for the chicken. Swap in greek yogurt for sour cream if you’re watching those calories. I do suggest, if you do use a plain diced tomato, to add some extra seasoning to the filling. A dash of cumin or chili powder…or even some paprika to kick it up a little. I’m giving you so many options here. I’m just so giving.

This would serve about 4 people if you make something on the side, but I was feeling particularly lazy. Do your thing. Or, just eat the whole pan by yourself. No judgement here. 

These are seriously so good I can’t even handle it. Also, my plates aren’t dirty, I promise. They have some weird speckled pattern in them. Thanks, Goodwill.

Enjoy.

Becka

3 thoughts on “Chicken Enchiladas with Chili Cream Sauce.

Leave a Reply

