Restaurant Salsa & Copycat Skillet Queso.

Standard

So, I have this neighbor. He’s pretty awesome. And, well, he makes us homemade tortilla chips. He cuts them and fries them in his backyard. And then salts them and pours them into a giant bag and hangs it over our fence and we snatch it up like we haven’t eaten in weeks and dive into them face first. If we even smell the oil heating up we stalk the backyard. These chips are absolutely incredible. Flaky, delicious little pieces of delight. They are the only tortilla chips I could ever eat plain. But, this time, I decided to make some dips to accompany these treasure troves of fried tortilla. And, they were good. Real good.

Made a meal out of it, good. 

Also, it is important to note, that they were so easy. Like, stupid easy. And that made this lazy broad very happy.

Image

Restaurant Style Salsa
Adapted from Here
Yields…a lot. A lot of salsa.

Ingredients:

  • 1 28 oz can whole, peeled tomatoes
  • 1 can fire roasted tomatoes (I used the last of my Rotel on this recipe so it was a milder salsa)
  • 1 jalapeno, de-seeded (or not, you brave soul) and diced
  • 1/2 c. diced onion
  • 2 T minced garlic
  • 3/4 c. cilantro
  • the juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin

Directions:

Combine all ingredients into a large food processor or blender and pulse until desired consistency is reached. I like my salsa on the thin side and that didn’t take very long to achieve so you may only need to pulse it 1-2 times to get a chunkier salsa.

Image

Copycat Skillet Queso
Recipe from Here

Ingredients:

  • 1, 16 oz block of Velveeta cheese (It was half of the block that I had purchased…dats a lot of fake cheese, y’all)
  • 1 can of no-bean chili (Pick your own poison. Mine was from Aldi.)
  • 3/4 c. milk
  • 2 tsp. paprika
  • 4 tsp. chili powder (or more, you sassy fool)
  • 1 T lime juice (I didn’t measure this…I just used a whole lime and I was fine)
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin

Directions:

Cut cheese into cubes and place in a medium saucepan. Add in the remaining ingredients and combine. Set heat to medium and stir continuously until cheese is melted and dip is nice and bubbly.

Image

I told you. Stupid easy. The salsa was super delicious and, without the Rotel or the jalapeno seeds, mild enough for Adam to palate. Which is important. Because this made a lot of salsa that I shouldn’t be eating all by myself. Feel free to use Rotel or the whole jalapeno. Who am I to stop you? This would be a perfect accompaniment to any taco night/nacho night/anything night. Treat yo’ self.

The queso was spot on, very similar to what you could get at Chilis. And since this queso is really the only thing I miss about Chilis, I guess I never need to go back. Everyone wins.

And, I mean, if you don’t have an awesome neighbor that makes you delicious tortilla chips to pair with these dips…then…well…you should consider moving. Or, buying store bought. I mean, if you don’t want to take the dramatic route. You can leave the dramatics to me.

Enjoy.

Becka

Leave a Reply

