Salisbury Steak & Potatoes.

Standard

There’s just something about comfort food that is just so…comforting? That sounds cliché but I don’t care what you think. Just kidding, I totally do. Please like me.

Anyways, I used to buy these frozen lean fake meals and my favorite one was a Salisbury Steak and mashed potatoes. It was a dollar and was less than 200 calories…which, like, can’t be real. That’s because it’s not. Nothing beats the real thing. Especially Salisbury steak. Especially, Salisbury Steak you guys!

I know you’ve probably only ever had the cafeteria version of Salisbury Steak and you probably think it’s more like dog food than human food but please for the love of all things good, try this one. It is absolutely positively delicious. And, dare I say it, a man-pleasin’ meal. We could be shopping for toilet seats or laundry detergent and Adam will out of nowhere exclaim how much he loves this meal and that I should make it immediately. And, sometimes, I oblige.

SONY DSC

Salisbury Steak with Caramelized Onion Gravy & Smashed Fingerling Potatoes
Adapted from Here & my very own brain
Makes 4 Large Steaks 

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. lean ground sirloin (or beef, chuck, turkey—I don’t know your life)
  • 1/3 c. vegetable oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced finely
  • 2 pieces white bread
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 2 T. minced garlic
  • 2 T Worcestershire, divided
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • 3 T. parsley (fresh or not. I don’t care…I used dried)
  • 2 T. corn starch
  • 1 can beef broth
  • 1 1/2 lb. fingerling potatoes, scrubbed and cut into chunks
  • 2 T. butter
  • 1/4 c. half & half (or milk. whatEVER!)
  • 1 T seasoned salt
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Place slices of bread in a bowl and top with milk, turn to coat and let sit. In a heavy bottomed skillet, heat a few tablespoons of the oil and add in the onions. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently to prevent them from burning. Continue to cook until brown–remove from heat and set onions aside. In a large mixing bowl, mix the beef, soaked bread, egg, garlic, parsley, 1 T. Worcestershire, half of the caramelized onions, salt and pepper with your HANDS! It’s fun and sort of gross, you guys. Divide the mixture into 4 and shape each quadrant into an oblong patty–dust with corn starch and set aside. Heat the remaining oil in the same skillet and gently transfer the patties to the hot oil. Cook over medium-high heat for 3 minutes. Flip steaks and continue to cook for an additional 3-4 minutes, or until cooked through. It usually takes me about 4 minutes per side (depends on how thick the patties are). Once cooked, remove patties and set them aside. Add in 1 T. corn starch to the skillet as well as the remaining onions and whisk until slightly thickened. Whisk in the beef broth and an additional tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, continue to whisk until thickened, about 2 minutes. Return patties to the skillet and spoon gravy over each patty.

For the Potatoes:

Add potatoes to a large pot of salted boiling water and let boil for 10-12 minutes, or until potatoes are fork tender. Drain potatoes. Add in the butter, half and half, seasoned salt and pepper and gently mash until potatoes have absorbed the liquid. Season to taste.

SONY DSC

Serve in cool porcelain TV dinner plates…unless you don’t have cool things like porcelain TV dinner plates…then I guess a regular plate will do…peasant.

This is worth the effort, I promise you. And don’t skimp out and make boxed potatoes with this. They have their place! I’m lazy too! Don’t do it this time! Why am I yelling?!

These steaks will melt in your mouth…and bring you back to the days in the cafet–wait. Just kidding. These are way better. Am I overselling this? Never.

You could be really ambitious and make fresh corn and maybe a brownie or something so it would be like a real TV dinner. But, I just added more gravy to my plate because, well, it’s gravy. It’s what dreams are made of…and what heart attacks are caused by. Yin and yang. I just added some fresh parm to the corn I made…fancy and lazy.

Enjoy this giant hug in food form. Lord knows I did.

Becka

Leave a Reply

