Push-Up Popsicles.

Standard

Can I just talk to you about my love and obsession with Michael’s Craft Store? I could literally spend hours in that place–wide-eyed and drooling at the possibilities of things I will never in my wildest dreams have the talent nor the time to complete.

Both of my grandmothers used to tote me along to craft stores in my younger years. I used to walk up and down the aisles with them and pick a project that I wanted to do and we would go back to their respective houses and I would spend the afternoon up to my elbows in glitter and glue and would have a trophy to show for all of my hard work at the end of it. I loved every single second of it.

Now that I’m older, I still have that same childish wonder every time I go into one of those places. I pick something off the shelf and go home with a plan set out and usually, those plans fall through and they sit in a basket in my office, collecting dust.

As someone who is mostly DIY-ing her own wedding, I’m pretty shitty at following through with projects. I guess I should get on that…

Anyways, I can never leave the store without getting something. It’s like an un-written rule that’s been etched into my brain. Must create, must dabble, must try something new. I came across these fun little treat-pop molds at the store and decided to bring them home with me. “Endless possibilities”, I said. “Easy enough,” I said. But I got them home and had absolutely no idea what to do with them and I wasn’t feeling ambitious enough to bake.

Enter the Push-Up. A nostalgic treat that gummed my grubby paws with syrup after stealing enough money from my dad’s change jar and chased down the ice cream man. Now, I could make my own–no running involved! Muahaha!

These are so easy that I’m not even writing out a real recipe because, well, I didn’t make any of this crap. Haha.

Image

Basically, you gather a few flavors of sorbet (or, even ice cream–you sneaky devil) and make sure they’re fully frozen before getting started or they’ll start to leak and that sucks. Using a teaspoon, spoon the sorbet into the tubes and press down after each layer to prevent air bubbles. Place them in the freezer and take out just before serving. If you’re giving them to kids I would suggest putting a cupcake liner through the stick portion just in case they start to drip. I’m just looking out for the laundry-doers in your household, guys.

Image

I used a mixture of rainbow and pomegranate blueberry. Fresh fruit would probably also make a good (and healthier, booooo) addition. I didn’t think of that until now. Whatever.

Image

And, it’s essential to listen to this song while eating these. Don’t sass.

Enjoy.

Becka

Leave a Reply

