Small Batch Baking: Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Standard

Cooking for two people is a pain in the ass but baking for two…way worse. At least if I make too much pasta or chicken I can reheat it for lunch later that week or somehow incorporate it into dinner the next day if it is acceptable. I have a fiance that would eat apple pie every day and never eat another dessert again. Well, besides sugar cookies. He doesn’t really like cake (GASP!) so when I want to bake a cake it either turns into cake balls that I bring to work or a cake that I will eat solely by myself over the course of a week until I’m sick of it and I throw it away. That sucks. Don’t be like me.

I’m in this weird stage in my life because I recently discovered brown butter. Holy hell, is there anything better in the world than brown butter?  You’d be wrong if you answered anything but no. I don’t know how it took me so long to discover this golden nectar of deliciousness but now that I have, I want to put it in everything. EVERYTHING! I was convinced that chocolate chip cookies couldn’t be more delicious…but I was very wrong.

Adam however, was unconvinced by this golden substance. “Wow, you burned the shit out of that!” he said. Well, I showed him.

Image

These cookies are to. die. for. Srsly. Chewy, salty, chocolatey…melt in your mouth good. Man. Now I want to make some more. I guess the one downfall of making a small batch is that you have less cookies . And sometimes, like right now, you wish you had more cookies. Life is rough.

ImageBrown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from Here
Yields 1 Dozen 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup plus 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened at room temperature
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. maple syrup (I always substitute for molasses. If you’d rather use molasses be my guest but I’m sure you have syrup in your house)
  • 1/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (or whichever kind you’d like, fool)
  • coarse sea salt for sprinklin’

Directions:

In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking soda, salt and set aside. Halve the stick of butter and place one half in the bowl of a stand mixer while you brown the other half. In a medium skillet, place the remaining half stick of butter and set heat to low. Continue to stir butter over low heat until completely melted–butter will foam and crackle as the water is cooked out of it. Swirl the pan around to loosen any bits from the bottom and as soon as you see the butter turn a light golden amber color, remove from heat and pour into a small bowl to cool. This step is rull’ important because the butter will continue to cook in that hot pan and that is bad, y’all. Let the butter cool for about 20 minutes.

Add the brown sugar to the mixer bowl with the remaining softened butter and cream using the paddle attachment until light and fluffy. Slowly beat in vanilla and maple syrup until well incorporated. Once the browned butter has cooled–slowly add into the mixing bowl (brown bits too!) and add in the granulated sugar and cream for about 2 minutes until everything is well combined. Slowly beat in the egg and continue to beat for an additional minute.

Scrape down the sides of the bowl before you add the dry ingredients to make sure everything is well combined. Slowly add in the flour mixture until butter and flour are  well incorporated. Do not over-mix. That’s bad.

Remove the bowl from the mixer and fold in the chocolate chips. Spoon mixture onto a piece of plastic wrap or parchment paper and roll into a log–seal at both ends and place in the fridge for atleast 30 minutes. It is important to let the dough rest and cool–you’ll get a more stable cookie that way. I’ve made the mistake before of baking with freshly mixed chocolate chip cookie dough and I had puddles all over my cookie sheet. That sucks.

Ensure that your baking rack is in the center or upper third of your oven and preheat to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (optional but worth it) and drop dough by the two tablespoonfuls until you’ve made 12 cookies. Sprinkle with coarse sea salt and bake for 9 minutes or until cookies are golden brown. Remove from the oven and let rest for about 5 minutes on the cookie sheet before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

Image

Devour them and wish you made more but thank yourself for only making a half batch because you know you just ate all of them by yourself. And, my friend, I salute you.

Becka.

2 thoughts on “Small Batch Baking: Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Leave a Reply

