Healthy Vegetarian Burrito Bowl.

Standard

One of my biggest bugaboo’s, besides Maroon 5, is people who mispronounce the word ‘Chipotle’. Can’t you read?! Oh my GERD! No, i don’t want to order ChipoLTE. Is that a place?! Where are we!?

Ok. So. Rage stroke over. Hi.

For the longest time I didn’t understand the concept of a burrito bowl. I thought that burritos were supposed to be infant sized in a flour tortilla diaper. I love burritos as much as the next fat person but sometimes I just want to mix all of the ingredients together and shovel it into my mouth…getting each tasty ingredient in every bite. Plus, eating a burrito bowl looks more lady-like. And less rice goes down your bra. That’s a big plus. These are factors that affect my life, you guys.

SONY DSC

I decided to make a burrito bowl because I was too lazy to go and buy myself one. And, I was surprised at how delicious it was and how I didn’t miss the meat whatsoever. Sometimes laziness plays off, you guys. Don’t let them tell you different.

Also, can we just talk about Farro for a minute? So good! I was worried that the texture would be off-putting because, let’s face it, healthy foods can be pretty grody tasting, amirite!? Not in this case. It blew my mind. I plan on making a pasta salad with it soon. Meow.

SONY DSC

Vegetarian Farro Burrito Bowl
Yields 2 Bowls

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c. cooked Farro (I used this kind and I cooked it in vegetable stock…yurm)
  • 2 bell peppers, seeded and cut into strips
  • 1 small onion, cut into thin strips
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 T. minced garlic
  • 1 T. chili powder
  • the juice of 1 lime
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Cook Farro per manufacturer instructions and set aside. In a medium saute pan, heat 1 Tablespoon cooking oil over medium heat and add in garlic and raw vegetables. Continue to cook until onions become slightly translucent and peppers have started to soften. Drain the black beans and add to saute pan. Stir in chili powder, lime juice and salt and pepper to taste. Continue to cook on low for 5 minutes.

Assemble the bowls by adding 3/4 cup cooked Farro to the bottom of the bowl and top with half of the vegetable mixture. I added a pinch of jack cheese and a dollop of  plain Greek yogurt to give it some extra flavor. Who knew that Greek Yogurt tastes exactly like sour cream? Everyone did but me, right? I also added a spoonful of hot salsa just to give it a kick. I highly suggest this step. So good.

SONY DSC

If you don’t have the Farro you could always use rice or quinoa…whatever floats your Farro-less boat. I’m sure it will be delicious either way.

Best thing about this dish, though? It’s cheap. Super cheap. Also, filling. Super filling. Super everything. Also, fiber. That’s important too.

Enjoy, my friends.
Becka

Leave a Reply

